Adam Christodoulou Nominated For McLaren Autosport Award

Posted By Adam Christodoulou / Race Update / No Comments

The six finalists for this year’s McLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award have been announced and for a second year running includes the 2009 Star Mazda Champion, Adam Christodoulou.

The other five finalists are Formula Renault UK champion Dean Smith and runner-up James Calado, British Formula Ford champion James Cole and rival Chrissy Palme and European Formula 3 Open racer Callum MacLeod.

Adam and the other nominees will go to Silverstone next month to be assessed in a variety of single-seater and tin-top machinery by an expert judging panel that includes 1996 Formula 1 world champion Damon Hill, ex-F1 racer Anthony Davidson, McLaren’s head of vehicle engineering Mark Williams, DTM star Jamie Green, veteran commentator Ian Titchmarsh and AUTOSPORT’S Marcus Pye and Kevin Turner.

There will also be a fitness test at Porsche’s Human Performance Centre, based at Silverstone.

The winner, who will be revealed at the Autosport Awards in London on Sunday December 6, will be awarded £50,000, a McLaren F1 test drive, full BRDC membership, and Puma racewear for a year.

Former winners of the award include current world championship leader Jenson Button, 13-time grand prix winner David Coulthard, Davidson, Green, and IndyCar star Dario Franchitti.

(Original article: