21st BRDC McLaren Autosport Award Winner To Be Named

Posted By Adam Christodoulou / Race Update / No Comments

Original article: Autosport.com

One young driver will get the chance to test a McLaren Formula 1 car when the winner of the McLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award is announced tonight.

The 21st winner of the award get £50,000, full BRDC membership, and Puma racewear for a year, as well as the test with the multiple title-winning squad.

Formula Renault UK stars James Calado and Dean Smith, American Star Mazda champion Adam Christodoulou, European F3 Open frontrunner Callum MacLeod, and British Formula Ford aces James Cole and Chrissy Palmer were chosen by a panel of judges to compete for the prize.

The six drove Carlin Formula 3 Dallaras and a WSR BMW 320si British Touring Car on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit last month to be assessed. They also underwent fitness tests at the Porsche Human Performance Centre and interviews at McLaren’s Technology Centre in Woking.

The winner will be announced at the AUTOSPORT Awards at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London this evening.

Former recipients of the award include reigning F1 world champion Jenson Button, former grand prix winner David Coulthard and IndyCar champion Dario Franchitti.

This year’s judging panel included 1996 F1 world champion Damon Hill and former McLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award winners Anthony Davidson and Jamie Green.